News Archive

Dean of the College announces top faculty honors

Chemistry, Communication, and English profs take prizes

9/4/2002 12:46:00 PM

    LYNCHBURG, Va. — Speaking at this year’s opening convocation in the Mabel Whiteside Amphitheatre on September 3rd, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the College Anita Solow named three Randolph-Macon Woman's College professors as winners of the College’s top faculty honors.

Associate professor of chemistry Ann Fabirkiewicz and assistant professor of English Heidi Kunz are co-recipients of this year’s Gillie A. Larew Award for Distinguished Teaching. The award was established in honor of Gillie A. Larew, whose association with the College spanned 54 years, beginning in 1900 when she entered the College as a student. The Larew Award is given annually to a faculty member or members who have demonstrated sound scholarship and effectiveness in the classroom, and is funded by a gift from an alumna of the Class of 1916 and her husband, Mr. and Mrs. Fred R. Wilson.

Solow also named professor of communication Carla Heath as this year’s winner of the Katherine Graves Davidson Award, an award given annually to a full-time member of the faculty who has been outstanding in bringing distinction to the College. The Davidson Award was established by Mr. and Mrs. J. Wilson Newman in recognition of the service to private higher education rendered by Mr. and Mrs. Frank G. Davidson, Jr.

| |

CONTACT: Brenda Edson, Director of College Relations