News Archive

R-MWC Professor to Join Lynchburg Symphony Orchestra for Performance

Emily Yap Chua will perform Oct. 23

10/4/2005 2:28:52 PM


Randolph-Macon Woman's College's own Emily Yap Chua will join the Lynchburg Symphony Orchestra onstage Oct. 23 for a program that includes lesser-known works from two monumentally important composers.

The concert, featuring music by Ludwig van Beethoven and Felix Mendelssohn, begins at 3 p.m. in the E.C. Glass auditorium. On the program: Beethoven’s King Stephen Overture, Beethoven’s Piano Concerto Number 3, and Mendelssohn’s Symphony Number 5, also known as the “Reformation” Symphony.

“All of the music we are playing for this concert is very beautiful, very lyrical, and very accessible,” noted LSO music director and conductor Bruce Habitzruther. “It is only because other works by the same two composers — Beethoven’s Piano Concert Number 5 or Mendelssohn’s ‘Italian’ or ‘Scottish’ symphonies, for example — have overshadowed the pieces we’re performing in October. From the hands of any other composers, these same compositions would themselves be major milestones in the classical repertoire.”

Chua, an assistant professor of music at Randolph-Macon Woman’s College in Lynchburg, is making her second appearance with the Lynchburg Symphony.

Her performance of George Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” with the LSO in September, 2003 brought a delighted audience to its feet the instant the performance ended. For her return, she and the orchestra will explore Beethoven’s varied and dynamic third piano concerto. Premiered in 1803 with Beethoven himself at the keyboard, the concerto broke off from the accepted style of piano concertos at the time, which in Beethoven's opinion didn't challenge the pianist to do much beyond run up and down the keyboard.

Mendelssohn’s “Reformation” Symphony, the other major piece on the program, is rich with lush romanticism. Planned as part of the celebrations of the Lutheran Reformation and the Augsburg Confession, the work shows the influence of music of the past on its composition. The first movement contains quotations of the "Dresden Amen". The last movement is made up of sweeping orchestral variations on Martin Luther's choral "A Mighty Fortress.”

Emily Yap Chua earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in music with minors in mathematics and dance from the Florida State University in 1996, graduating magna cum laude, and continued on to graduate study at the College-Conservatory of Music, University of Cincinnati. As a full scholarship student and teaching assistant at CCM-UC, she earned the Master of Music degree in piano performance in 1998 and the Doctor of Musical Arts degree in piano performance with a cognate in music theory in 2002

As a scholarship student at the Aspen Music Festival in 1995, Dr. Chua was a studio accompanist for students of Dorothy Delay, an association which continued at CCM-UC. She also served as the primary chamber music pianist at the Opera Theatre of Lucca (Italy) in 2000, and was staff accompanist at the Cincinnati Flute Symposium in 2001. Her past collaborations include performances with members of the Nashville Symphony, Charlotte Symphony, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, principals of the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, and faculty at The Julliard School. A former substitute member of the New World Symphony in Miami, Florida, her performance venues have ranged across the United States and abroad, including Italy and the Philippines. Her recent solo appearances include recitals at Youngstown State University (OH), the University of Virginia, and the Gellman Room Concert Series at the Richmond Public Library.

Dr. Chua is Assistant Professor of Music at Randolph-Macon Woman's College, where she teaches Piano, Accompanying, Music Theory Lab, Women in Music, and coaches Ensemble.

Tickets for the concert can be purchased in advance t

| |

CONTACT: Brenda Edson, Director of College Relations