News Archive

Dean of the College announces top faculty honors

9/3/2003 3:41:41 PM


LYNCHBURG, Va. — Speaking at this year's opening convocation in Smith Hall Theatre, R-MWC Dean of the College William Coulter named two Randolph-Macon Woman's College professors as winners of the College's top faculty honors.

Professor of Romance Languages Chet Halka is the winner of this year's Gillie A. Larew Award for Distinguished Teaching. The award was established in honor of Gillie A. Larew, whose association with the College spanned 54 years, beginning in 1900 when she entered the College as a student. The Larew Award is given annually to a faculty member or members who have demonstrated sound scholarship and effectiveness in the classroom, and is funded by a gift from an alumna of the Class of 1916 and her husband, Mr. and Mrs. Fred R. Wilson.

Coulter also named Associate Professor of Dance and Director of the Visiting Artists Program Pam Risenhoover as this year's winner of the Katherine Graves Davidson Award, an award given annually to a full-time member of the faculty who has been outstanding in bringing distinction to the College. The Davidson Award was established by Mr. and Mrs. J. Wilson Newman in recognition of the service to private higher education rendered by Mr. and Mrs. Frank G. Davidson, Jr.

Founded in 1891, Randolph--Macon Woman's College is a highly selective undergraduate liberal arts college of 780 women with a distinguished history of establishing global connections through international education. The College was recently honored by NAFSA: Association for International Educators for the exemplary globalization of our campus, and has been recognized by U. S. News & World Report as one of the top ten national liberal arts colleges for our percentage of international students.

| |

CONTACT: Brenda Edson, Director of College Relations