Iota Sigma Pi Inducts Five

Students honored for academic achievement in chemistry


Five students were inducted into Iota Sigma Pi, the national chemistry honor society for women, on April 20, 2009.

Ann Fabirkiewicz, professor of chemistry, welcomed the following new inductees...

  • Aliyah Rebecca Barrett
  • Archana Datta,
  • Elizabeth Ashley Robinson
  • Rebika Shrestha
  • Amy Swayne Thruston

Current students who were previously inducted into Iota Sigma Pi include...

  • Marwa Abdel-Latif
  • Sasha Fraser
  • Shirae Leslie

A national chemistry honor society for women, the Lanthanum chapter (for Lynchburg Area) of Iota Sigma Pi was established in 1998. Founded in 1902, the objectives of the society are to promote interest in chemistry among women students, to foster mutual advancement in academic, business, and social life, and to stimulate personal accomplishment in chemical fields. The local chapter was founded by faculty at Lynchburg College, Sweet Briar College, and Randolph College, and serves to foster scientific and social interaction between the three colleges.

The ceremony took place as part of Randolph College’s Honor Society Joint Induction, a celebration of student academic achievement across a variety of disciplines. Honor societies in chemistry, classics, communication studies, economics, English, physics, political science, psychology and sociology, as well as Phi Beta Kappa, all inducted their new honorees at the event.